Momofuku Noodle Bar

I’ve wanted to go to Momofuku for a while but had never gotten around to it but when I read about their watermelon soju slushie I decided it was time for us to go.  We went there tonight and I probably had more pork belly in one sitting than I’ve had all year.  The watermelon soju slushie was a bit on the light side but the shiitake mushroom buns were very good.  Adam, who’s giving vegetarianism a try, tried some and keenly noted that it tasted like the mushrooms had been cooked in pork fat.  He later asked the waitress and she confirmed his suspicion.  The pork belly buns were lighter than I thought–not at all untasty but not as delectable as I had imagined them to be.  The momofuku ramen was disappointing–the broth was so-so (then again, I haven’t been able to find a ramen dish that I’ve been impressed by in New York) but the pork belly was good.  Adam enjoyed his prix fixe dinner which seemed to have been tailor made for him since it consisted of a combination of vegetarian dishes and dishes with seafood.

Shiitake bun

Shiitake bun

Momofuku ramen

Momofuku ramen

Leave a Reply

