Lima, Day 2

Sadly, this was the only day we got to sleep in and, by sleep in, I mean we got to sleep until 8 or 8:30.  After breakfast at the hotel, we walked over to Vivanda, which the map our hotel gave us called Lima’s Whole Foods equivalent.  It may not have been exactly Whole Foods but it was close enough, which made me quite happy.  I perused the fruits section since there were a number of fruits in Peru that I wanted to try.  I was happy to find passion fruit drinks (I’ve had a thing for passion fruit ever since our trip to Brazil).  After checking out, we brought our finds back to the hotel and then headed back out to get lunch.

It was Sunday, so our options were limited but I was excited to try a cevicheria in San Isidro that had received accolades.  We were staying in San Isidro within what appeared to be walking distance from the restaurant but appearances can be deceiving, particularly when you don’t have a sense of scale when looking at a map for a city you’re unfamiliar with.  We eventually made it to the restaurant location, only to discover that they had relocated to a new location in Miraflores.  Doh!  This is one of the disadvantages of visiting a city that isn’t very walkable and doesn’t have a good public transportation system.  We decided to get lunch at the mall I had set my sights on.  After a lackluster lunch, we split up to explore the mall.  If I were to write a travel guidebook, I think I would include information like worthwhile shopping destinations and airport food recommendations and I would not include Jockey Plaza as one of my recommendations.  While the mall was better than the one I went to during our last overseas vacation in Zagreb, the high prices relative to quality (in part because of the high import taxes in Peru) made the shopping trip a disappointing one.  Leaving empty handed save for a pair of sneakers that I purchased because I had forgotten to pack a pair back home, we caught a taxi to our next destination, Barranco.  Again, our taxi driver deposited us in the vicinity of the address I gave and pointed in the general direction of where we were supposed to go.  The walk was a pleasant one though, as Barranco is notable for its historic streetcars.

Barranco streetcar

After checking out the museum, we made our way south and curious about the crowds we saw congregated outside a small gallery, I went to check out the exhibit inside, one featuring photographs of Peruvians in traditional costumes by famed Peruvian fashion photographer, Mario Testino.  Barranco is a charming neighborhood to explore, with its famous bridge, artsy shops, and seaside views.  After leaving this charming shop, we walked over the shoreline and admired views of the sunset.

Barranco sunset 1

Barranco sunset 3

Afterwards, we tried walking to the restaurant in Miraflores where we planned on having dinner but, realizing it was probably too far to walk, we decided to cab it there.  We arrived before they opened so we passed the time drinking pisco sours at a restaurant next door where the bartender was kind enough to give us samples of pure pisco which packs quite a punch!

Fortunately, dinner helped catalyze some of that alcohol and we made it safely home to our hotel.

Leave a Reply

